Nutrition


Personalisation | Microbiome | Functional Foods

Tuesday 11th May


11:00 CET 10:00 BST 05:00 ET

Hear from six of the most exciting growth companies in nutrition and supplements about who they are, why their customers love them and how they are tackling consumer health and wellness for a post-pandemic era.


13:00 CET 12:00 BST 07:00 ET

Ask the investors (Europe)

Get in front of European investors in food, beverages and nutrition. This interactive roundtable-style session is designed for emerging brands to put their questions to and build relationships with investors in their space

Investors include:
Louis Bedwell, Founder, Mission Ventures & The Good Food Fund
Rodrigo Hortega de Velasco, Venture Manager, Döhler Ventures
Rob Beudeker, Investment Director, DSM Venturing
Gil Horsky, ​​Director of Innovation SnackFutures, Mondelēz International

Louis Bedwell, Founder, Mission Ventures & The Good Food Fund    Rodrigo Hortega de Velasco, Venture Manager, Döhler Ventures 300x (1)    Rob Beudeker, Investment Director, DSM Venturing    Gil Horsky, ​​Director of Innovation SnackFutures, Mondelēz International


14:00 CET 13:00 BST 08:00 ET

Interactive roundtable: Effective framework and best practices for optimal partnering in the healthcare industry (Invitation Only)

The session explores ideal approaches to partnership from academia and industry and how it allows both sides to develop and grow.

Stephen Beveridge, External Innovation & Partnering Leader Digestive & Nutritional Health, Bayer Consumer Health
Moderator: Christina Bussfeld, Global COM Business Partner R&D / Product Supply, Bayer Consumer Health

Stephen Beveridge, External Innovation & Partnering Leader Digestive & Nutritional Health, Bayer Consumer Health    Christina Bussfeld, Global COM Business Partner R&D / Product Supply, Bayer Consumer Health


15:00 CET 14:00 BST 09:00 ET

Immune-boosting, sugar reducing or calm-inducing – the role of functional F&B in a health-conscious society

Food is undergoing a lifestyle-focussed rebranding that has been accelerated by the COVID-19 pandemic, Consumers are increasingly looking for foods that proactively enhance their health and wellbeing, particularly as self-case emerges as an important value-driver. This session explores the complexities of developing functional ingredients and food products, how to take (and promote) a science-led approach and provide added value to health-conscious consumers.

Shari Leidich, Founder and CEO, Max Sweets
Sean Folkson
, Founder, Nightfood
Eran Baniel
, Co-Founder and CEO, DouxMatok
Nora Khaldi
, CEO, Nuritas
Moderator: Jim Cali, General Partner, Next Gen Nutrition Investment Partners

Shari Leidich, Founder and CEO, Know Brainer Foods    Sean Folkson, Founder, Nightfood    Eran Baniel, CEO and Co-Founder, DouxMatok    Nora Khaldi, CEO, Nuritas    Jim Cali, General Partner, Next Gen Nutrition Investment Partners


16:00 CET 15:00 BST 10:00 EDT

Interactive roundtable: Personalised nutrition models and their implications for population healthspan

The benefits of personalised nutrition have been well documented but developing a tangible business model for consumer personalisation has presented a challenge. This session explores successful personalised models and how they are improving population health – and proving it!

Lihi Segal, Co-Founder and CEO, DayTwo
Ahmed El-Sohemy, President and Chief Scientific Officer, Nutrigenomix
James Bauly, Head of Personalized Nutrition, DSM Nutritional Products
Moderator: Nard Clabbers, Chief Science Officer, Foodned.com

Lihi Segal, Co-Founder and CEO, DayTwo    Ahmed El-Sohemy, President and Chief Scientific Officer, Nutritgenomix    James Bauly, Head of Personalized Nutrition, DSM Nutritional Products    Nard Clabbers, Chief Science Officer, Foodned.com


17:00 CET 16:00 BST 11:00 EDT

“Wellness for prevention” - the opportunity for FMCG to deliver population-wide health improvement

The COVID-19 pandemic has thrown the importance of underlying health into stark reality. As an industry, FMCG has the opportunity, and responsibility, to help consumers improve their health day-to-day, whether encouraging better choices, driving healthy lifestyle or direct interventions. This session explores the opportunity for the FMCG sector and how some companies are actively stepping up to the challenge.

David Evendon-Challis, Chief Scientific Officer, Bayer Consumer Health
Filippo Lanzi, Head of EMEA, GSK Consumer Health
Samantha Samaras, Global Vice President, Science & Technology, Unilever
Tom Waller, Senior Vice President, Advanced Innovation, lululemon
Judy Stenmark
, Director General, Global Self Care Federation

David Evendon-Challis, Chief Scientific Officer, Bayer Consumer Health    Filippo Lanzi, Head of EMEA, GSK Consumer Health    Samantha Samaras, Global Vice President, Science & Technology, Unilever    Tom Waller, Senior Vice President, Advanced Innovation, lululemon    Judy Stenmark, Director General, Global Self Care Federation


18:00 CET 17:00 BST 12:00 ET

Interactive roundtable: Ethical claims – what you can and cannot claim about consumer wellness products

Consumer wellness and nutrition is rife with unsubstantiated claims and bad diet advice. This session looks at exactly what you can and cannot claim about consumer wellness products with a focus on nutrition and supplements, including appropriate use of scientific literature and ethical claims.

Sophie Medlin, Founder, CityDieticians
Elisabeth Bik, Microbiome and Science Integrity Consultant
Moderator: Claire Stewart, Professor of Stem Cell Biology, Stem Cells, Ageing and Molecular Physiology Unit Research Institute for Sport & Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University

Sophie Medlin, Founder, CityDieticians    Elisabeth Bik, Microbiome and Science Integrity Consultant    Claire Stewart, Professor of Stem Cell Biology, Stem Cells, Ageing and Molecular Physiology Unit Research Institute for Sport & Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University


19:00 CET 18:00 BST 13:00 ET

Doing business in the $252bn supplements market to extend healthspan

The supplements market is worth $252bn and is growing as trends like healthspan and longevity, reproductive health and boosting immunity capture public imagination. This session looks at how the market is evolving and key success factors for brands looking to make their mark in the space.

Colin Watts, CEO, Juvenescence Life
Kate Bache, Co-Founder and CEO, Health & Her
Rob Fried
, Chief Executive Officer, ChromaDex
Yu Cheng
, Global Head of Metabolic Health, Nestlé Health Science
Moderator: James Bauly, Head of Personalized Nutrition, DSM Nutritional Products

Colin Watts, CEO, Juvenescence Life    Kate Bache, Co-Founder and CEO, Health & Her    Rob Fried, Chief Executive Officer, ChromaDex    Yu Cheng, Global Head of Metabolic Health, Nestlé Health Science    James Bauly, Head of Personalized Nutrition, DSM Nutritional Products


20:00 CET 19:00 BST 14:00 ET

How food companies are investing in lifelong health and wellness for consumers

The way that consumers think about food is changing. This has only been accelerated by the global pandemic, with lifelong health and wellness now vying with sustainability at the forefront of what consumers want. In order to keep up big food companies are increasing their investment in nimble brands and technologies that prioritise health and wellness. This session explores assorted corporate investment strategies and how challenger brands can access funding and partnership opportunities.

Daniel Grubbs, Managing Director, PepsiCo Ventures
Miriam Ueberall, Vice President R&D International, The Kraft Heinz Company
Jean-Christophe Flatin, President, Innovation, Science, Technology & Mars Edge, Mars
Tia Rains
, Vice President of Customer Engagement & Strategic Development, Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America
Moderator: Matthew Pullan, SVP, LSX

Daniel Grubbs, Managing Director, PepsiCo Ventures    Miriam Ueberall, Vice President R&D International, The Kraft Heinz Company    Jean-Christophe Flatin, President, Innovation, Science, Technology & Mars Edge, Mars    Tia Rains, Vice President of Customer Engagement & Strategic Development, Ajinomoto Health & Nutrition North America    Matthew Pullan, SVP, LSX


21:00 CET 20:00 BST 15:00 ET 12:00 PST

Ask the investors (US)

Get in front of US investors in food, beverages and nutrition. This interactive roundtable-style session is designed for emerging brands to put their questions to and build relationships with investors in their space.

Investors include:
Andrew Towle, General Partner, Next Gen Nutrition Investment Partners
Brian Frank
, General Partner, FTW Ventures

Andrew Towle, General Partner, Next Gen Nutrition Investment Partners    Brian Frank, General Partner, FTW Ventures


22:00 CET 21:00 BST 14:00 ET 13:00 PST

The science of aging, cellular health & NAD+ precursors

Understanding the aging process, the role of NAD+ in cellular aging and research findings on key NAD+ precursor, nicotinamide riboside (NR).

Frank Jaksch, Founder, ChromaDex 

Frank Jaksch, Founder, ChromaDex 

 

DOWNLOAD BROCHURE