What are the European Lifestars Awards


On 17th November 2020, 21 European countries from 5 designated regions will be sending 170 regional champions to London, where the European Lifestars Awards will take place. They will be joined by hundreds of their support network and key industry stakeholders.

The 5 designated regions have been chosen for their established life science sectors capable of supporting finalists in each of the 20 Award categories.

The European Lifestars Awards are a celebration of the success stories, breakthroughs, transactions and transformational deals and the people, teams and organisations that have played a critical role in the advancement of the industry over the previous 12 months.

They are instrumental in highlighting the incredible work being carried out across the life science value chain.

The prestigious ELA's combine a champagne reception, 4-course dinner, evening entertainment, charity silent auction and post-show celebrations alongside the official ceremony.   

It is the only life science industry awards ceremony to celebrate not just the companies and individuals, but the countries and regions that they represent.
Lifestars gold icon



The Awards Process



- Identify within which of the 20 award categories you wish to submit from the full list of categories, ensuring you fully read the criteria attached to each category before making your application.

- Nominees complete a short, online nomination form, including a 400-word supporting document, done so via the appropriate category listing.

- Award entry is free, and you can enter a maximum of 2 categories as long as you meet the entry criteria.


Lifestars gold icon


Judging Committee

- Our distinguished panel of international judges will deliberate over each nomination submission and shortlist the regional champions that will represent their respective regions. 

- Our committee of judges will also have the ability to nominate companies / teams / individuals within their own regions, that will be contacted for submissions, carrying the opportunity to be reviewed.

- Nominations close on the 1st August, with the judging committee announcing their regional finalists on the 17th August.


Lifestars gold icon


Regional Finalist Selection

- 1 or 2 companies / teams / individuals will be selected via the judging committee to represent their region in each of the 20 award categories. 

- Each award category will be contested by either 5 or 10 finalists. Each category will have the same number of finalists from each region contesting the award.

- The judging committee will participate in one more voting round on the 19th October which will form the basis of the scoring on the night.


Lifestars gold icon


The Scoring Process

- As with all other awards ceremonies, there will be a Winner and a Highly Commended in each award category. Only the winner will be invited onstage to collect their award at the ceremony on the 17th November.

- However, the finishing position of each finalist will also carry a points scoring (ranging from 12, 10, 8, 7 and 6, then 5 points equally for the final 5 places). These points will be tallied throughout the evening and attributed to each of the 5 regions.

- The region with the highest aggregated points score at the close of the evening will be crowned Regional Champions, and all finalists from that region invited onstage to collect individual medals.

Enquire about this year's awards

Sign up to event updates to hear about all the latest Lifestars developments!